The Importance of Friendship

There are few people in life with whom we can be truly honest. Now, I’m being blunt here, I’m talking raw honesty. The kind where nothing is censored. There are very few people that we can actually say that about. In my life I feel that there are two… three maybe…

These two people, who I might add are of no relation to me whatsoever, are the two people who I can really call my best friends. They know everything. Every little gorey detail about everything that goes on in my life. If I lost either of these people I honestly think it would have devastating effects on myself as a person.

images

This whole post stems from a conversation between myself and my best friend. We went for a walk to clear our heads after a lovely (alcohol fuelled) night out.As we walked I expressed a concern, or a fear, of us drifting apart down the line. If you think about it, it’s only a natural concern. Every friendship we had as children, as teenagers, have all faded to pretty much nothing. If you asked me about girls who were my “best friends” in primary school, I really don’t think I’d have a clue about any of them and I’d only be able to answer anything you’d ask me after a nice snoop on their Facebook page!

Secondary school friends? I’d have to say the same! I was so close to so many people in secondary school and as life goes on we realise that we are all friends out of convenience – we got on because we were stuck together for 5 or 6 years….would I really have chosen to be friends with them if I had a bigger say? I do have a group of very close friends, the majority of which I know from secondary school, yet I only even spoke to about 4 of them when we were even in school…. As our lives develop and move on, certain people move further and further into the distance until, one day, they’re no longer in our field of vision any more.

images

So, my concern was that I might, some day, lose one of the most important people in my life. And, lets face it… as we get older, we may need to move for work, someone may decide to travel, husbands and children might be on the cards and suddenly we’re worlds apart…. it just frightens me.

I can’t imagine a life where I can’t ring someone every time I’m bored, where I forget completely that I’m surrounded by strangers and start discussing something highly inappropriate in a rather loud voice, where I don’t have them by my side through thick and thin. Can you imagine losing touch with the one person that makes you fall over from laughter, who thinks your crazy ideas are actually ingenious brainwaves, and that you’re the most amazing person in the world?! I really don’t know how I’d survive without my best friends. They are the most amazing people on this earth and I would do anything in my power to make them happy!

So, to conclude (this very strange and slightly soppy post), I propose that each of you contact your best friends and show them just how truly grateful you are to even know them! Thank them for what they have done for you. Count your blessings for having them in your life. Try to make them understand just how much they mean to you!

“If there ever comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart. I’ll stay there forever.” 
― A.A. Milne

Leave a Reply

